About ONSMS2018-12-11T16:36:19+00:00

The Old North State
Medical Society

Established in 1887, The Old North State Medical Society is the oldest medical society for African American Physicians in the United States.

The Old North State Medical Society (ONSMS) was formed in 1887 to further the interests of African American physicians and continues to support the interests of minority physicians. We focus on educating and advocating for the most vulnerable patients and people residing in communities that consistently produce poorer heath outcomes and seek to protect the quality of patient care in all communities of North Carolina.

  • Support retention of a strong patient-physician relationship.

  • Promote quality, affordable patient-centered care.

  • Advocate for the most vulnerable patients.

  • Promote continuing education for physicians.

  • Provide opportunities for peer networking.

  • Mentor the next generation of minority physicians.

Our Board of Directors

If you would like to contact one of our Board Members, use our contact form.

John M. Woodyear, Jr. MD


George Kilpatrick, MD


Steven Ferguson, MD

2nd Vice President

Sandhya Thomas-Montilus, MD

Immediate Past President

Beverly Davis Sanders, MD


Tracei Ball, MD

Cedric Bright, MD

Paul Carter, MD

Marjorie Debnam, MD

Charlene Green, MD

Eleanor Greene, MD

Julius Mallette, MD

Vernon Ross, MD

George Saunders, MD

Douglas Taylor, MD

Edward Treadwell, MD

Jonathan Weston, MD

Johnny Williams, MD